Exercise 5.7: Prepare your artist’s statement

For this exercise we have to look online and read other Artist’s statements and also write a statement for our work for As. 5.

There is a link in the course notes to help us about writing the statement. However, as it does not work I tried to find some others.

A good one I think is the following:

https://www.gyst-ink.com/artist-statement-guidelines/

It is a longer text but I think the useful part is:

What Is an Artist’s Statement?

  1. A general introduction to your work, a body of work, or a specific project.
  2. It should open with the work’s basic ideas in an overview of two or three sentences or a short paragraph.
  3. The second paragraph should go into detail about how these issues or ideas are presented in the work.
  4. If writing a full-page statement, you can include some of the following points:
    • Why you have created the work and its history.
    • Your overall vision.
    • What you expect from your audience and how they will react.
    • How your current work relates to your previous work.
    • Where your work fits in with current contemporary art.
    • How your work fits in with the history of art practice.
    • How your work fits into a group exhibition, or a series of projects you have done.
    • Sources and inspiration for your images.
    • Artists you have been influenced by or how your work relates to other artists’ work. Other influences.
    • How this work fits into a series or longer body of work.
    • How a certain technique is important to the work.
    • Your philosophy of art making or of the work’s origin.
  5. The final paragraph should recapitulate the most important points in the statement.”

Maybe is for a longer than the one I need but I think it can be inspiring and helpful.

Another one is

http://www.artbusiness.com/artstate.html

A couple of interesting points from this one:

  • write the statement in a language that anyone can understand
  • write why you make art, what it means to you
  • “Avoid instructing people on how to see, feel, behave, respond, or otherwise relate to your art”

And finally, https://www.lightspacetime.art/how-to-write-the-perfect-artist-statement/

However, in the third one it says to avoid use “I” which is the opposite of what it says in the second. Both though, says to keep it simple and explain the why.

I think for me I prefer to use “I” than refer to myself as the artist etc.

Furthermore, I looked online and read other artist/ photographers statements, few points I like:

  • Speaking on a personal note
  • Keep it simple
  • Keep it short

 

Follows the Artist statement I wrote for my work for As. 5

In my previous personal projects, I was enjoying photographing rubbish and objects left behind by the users/ owner in places sometimes we did not expect them to be. In these cases, I had one rule for myself  “Do not touch or interfere with this object and just move myself and the camera around in order to capture the image in way that satisfies me”. This practise slowly helped me to develop a personal photographic voice.

Then at some point, I felt the need to use this photographic voice in exactly the opposite way, with interfering/ placing and touching some objects in locations of my choice. The second question though, is what objects should be placed/ used.

Moreover, there was a need to be creative, and to create. I am aware that I am not a good in painting, but I am also aware that I enjoy abstract paintings. I have not practised it a lot (mainly as part of a volunteering job in an art group) but I knew that it worth exploring it further. In addition, I was always remembering that when I was in school, I was really enjoying working with oil pastels.

In this project, I created some oil pastel abstract paintings in small white cardboard, then place them and photograph them outdoors. All the pieces of cardboard are not exactly the same size or perfectly rounded as I cut a larger piece of cardboard in smaller pieces.

One thought on “Exercise 5.7: Prepare your artist’s statement”

Leave a Reply

