Exercise 5.2: Print quotes

As a part of the self- directed project we have to do some research on printing of photographs assuming that we want to print our photos as a part of As.5

  1. In the first part we have to find online quotes for printing both in C-type and Gicleé printing. For the comparison I choose the same size 12 x 16 inches (all prices in £).

 

The print space (https://www.theprintspace.co.uk/art-printing-prices)

Fuji Crystal Archive Matt or Gloss : 8.21

Kodak Metallic: 9.88

Fuji Flex: 10.69

Gicleé Prints All Gicleé: 11.08

Metro print (http://www.metro-print.co.uk/prices)

Standard C Type Prints : 7.5

Deluxe C Type Prints: 11.25

Standard Giclée Prints: 10.25

Deluxe Giclée Prints: 15.30

From Dsl colour labs (http://dscolourlabs.co.uk/about/Fujilargeformatprices)

Fuji C-Type Pearl / Kodak Metallic: 5.50

Colour GB (https://www.colourgb.co.uk/collections/giclee-printing)

Range of price for Gicleé printing depending on the paper from 4.5 to 12 £

  1. In the second part of the exercise we have to prepare one image file exactly as specified by printers

 

To do that I follow the following steps:

  • Create a new file in Photoshop Elements 12 x 16 inches, with resolutions 300 pixels/ inch which is good for printing
  • In pixels the file new file is 4800 x 3600
  • Open the photo I want to “print” in Photoshop Elements
  • The initial size is 6016 x 4000 pixels with resolution 240 pixels/ inch
  • Resize this image to 4500 x 2992 pixels, resolution 300 pixels/ inch, Select All, Copy
  • Paste to the empty file
  • Then merge visible layers

I left the frame on purpose to avoid any cropping I do not want.

Toprint

  1. In the third part of the exercise we have to write a brief entry whether we feel or not that an inkjet can be treated as a “photograph”.

My opinion is that a “photograph” is not determined by the material. We can still considering viewing a photo when we look in a digital display. I was not aware about these different types of printing before working for this exercise (that was actually really interesting to read).What I did not know is that in the C type printing it is used photographic paper which actually exposed etc etc. That makes it possibly more “photograph” than an inkjet printing but to be honest when viewing a photo, I only notice the quality of it (if it is good or bad) and not how it is printed. Finally, for me even after all these years working in digital photography, I will never forget the “magic” of the slow appearance of the photo in the photographic paper under the red light of the darkroom (working in darkroom 2006-2008). For sure, this is more a “photograph” but with the sense of something that I had created with my own hands, not printed by a printer.  It is like a painter or an artist who created the piece of art with his own hands. To be honest, my own thoughts are developing for this issue while I am writing this post. If it is an object I create, I think I consider more a photograph a Black and White print, then a colour photo from film, printed in chemicals, then C- type print and finally the inkjet print. But while looking?

I think I look more at the depicted object/ subject than the material.

Leave a Reply

