As.2: Reflection on tutor´s comments

Any reproduction of photos is purely for no profit and educational reasons

In this part I will research the photographers and artists my tutor mention in their report. In a second part I will try to resubmit the As.2 with adaptations according to tutors suggestions.

In the tutor report it is mentioned that my work reminds my tutor of the work by Duane Michals. My tutor asked me If I am aware of his playful narratives. They are really interesting. Nice story telling on them. They look like stills from a video. Searching for the images I am not sure If I have seen this part of his work before. I do remember though some of his self portraits, which are multiple exposures. While searching I also found a portrait of Meryl Streep that I really like. She looks really beautiful here.

My tutor also suggested exploring the work by Richard Wentworth. I really like his work. I think his work is close to what I want to do in the final assignment. That is more obvious in the post Transitions- 5.

As in my As. 2 I have used text in photography and did some relevant research my tutor suggested to check how other photographers used text.

The first one was Karen Knorr. I remember seeing in the past her work with the animals but not these black and white photos. I really like how the text works in this case. I think I might consider it in the future (actually I have mentioned her work in my blog).

John Kippin approach is really different. I like how smoothly the text blends with the images. I like the general feeling also of the photos.

 

Les Monaghan uses text below his portraits. Although the text is not long, it is really effective. He is working in series of portraits. I think I have to explore more his work, for my humans project. He is also using different type of text depending on the project.

Wend Ewold (the google search gave results for Wendy Ewald, possible type or alternative spelling). I really like how the text frames, cover or overlap the portraits. It is like the text interacts with the subject, it is not just a subtitle etc. I am sure it is not something I can do as my hand writing is far from clear, but interesting concept.

 

Victor Burgin uses much longer text in black and white photos. Again it is interesting. It gives more a feeling like it is a magazine page though.

Sophie Calle uses text in several projects. I found more effective the projects where she projects a text in herself. Even if the text is not clear or easy to understand it is interesting.

John Baldessari, I think what I like in his work is the simplicity of it in some cases. I also like the use of colours. It gives a feeling of childish collage, looks like it something easy to produce but I am sure it was not so easy for the artist to make it.

 

My tutor also mentioned Jim Goldberg and Barbara Kruger, however I have already discussed their work in Ex. 2.5

Furthermore, my tutor suggested seeing the work of few other artists/ photographers for inspiration for As. 6.

Staring with Martina Lindqvist, I have seen her work at http://www.martinalindqvist.com/ but I could not find more details for her project. I did a little research online and I found the following link https://www.we-heart.com/2014/10/07/martina-lindqvist-photographers-gallery-london/

In the project Neighbours, she took photos of abandoned houses and then digitally manipulated them and removing all trace of surrounding life to make them look even more lonely. I like the final effect.

Noemie Goudal, reconstructs landscapes indoors using A3 photocopies, but also creates art installation which later photograph (either indoors or outdoors).

Danny Treacy takes self portraits wearing cloths of unknown people, but from areas were people experience intense pain or pleasure (http://www.re-title.com/artists/Danny-Treacy.asp ). Hence, these photos are telling stories not only for the place but also for the people who wore them.

In more experimental work, Stephen Gill (http://www.stephengill.co.uk/ ) adds material and/ or insects inside the film or the camera before shooting the photos (https://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/2010/mar/03/photography-stephen-gill-best-shot). The results are interesting and not predictable.

Finally, Catherine Yass after she takes the photos find several ways to “damage” the image and/ or the print. The effect is interesting, however I do not know if that is still considered photo or a more mixed media artwork. Of course someone can ask if that matters.

As I have an interest in film photography (do not practise though recently) I have read that there are different ways of process the films or print them (lomography), for example with using coffee in the developing process or boil the film before using it. Maybe those are not so extreme as the work by C. Yass, whose work maybe give more a sense of place than depicts the actual place.

It is interesting to see the work suggested by my tutor, I do not know though if there are practises I want to do. I want either not to interfere at all my object, not touching them, but moving myself to have a better point of view or placing objects in the landscape like I did with the ducks etc.

 

3 thoughts on “As.2: Reflection on tutor´s comments”

Leave a Reply

