Looking to the work of photographers/ artist mentioned in the coursework.

Although I did not discuss a lot about the photographers mentioned in the notes in this part of the course, there are some of them and their projects that I want to further explore and I will try to do that in this post.

https://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/gallery/2011/sep/02/lee-friedlander-america-by-car-in-pictures (accessed 29/06/2016)

The work featured here by Lee Friedlander is a concept I would not consider. But I think there is something interesting here. I like that is in black and white. I like the distance from reality black and white gives. In some cases the framing is really interesting, especially Nebraska, 1999

https://www.lensculture.com/articles/chris-coekin-the-hitcher (accessed 29/06/2016)

An interesting concept by Chris Coekin. My favourite photos are 7, 9 and 13 as they are related to concept I want to explore.

I knew that I have to look further as I wanted to explore more the rubbish and objects he snapped.

http://www.chriscoekin.com/index.php?/ongoing/the-hitcher-series-3/ (accessed 29/06/2016)

These photos are more close to my interest both personal and the voice that is slowly developing during the course.

and also http://photography.zemniimages.info/chris-coekin/ (accessed 29/06/2016)

In the project Sleeping by the Mississippi (2004) there are some photos by Alec Soth photos taken by the river over a time of 5 years.

Looking at photos of the project at https://pro.magnumphotos.com/Package/2K7O3RJZOEDT (accessed 29/06/2016) there are many of them that I really like.

These include NYC39687, NYC39961, NYC47766,NYC39700, NYC39692

These are moment I would love to snap…just for the feeling of being there…and seeing these “photos” in front of my eyes

Also the work by Nadav Kander 

http://www.nadavkander.com/works-in-series/yangtze-the-long-river/ (accessed 29/06/2016)

is interesting. I like the feeling the photos give. Maybe a feeling of sadness, due to the fog and the colour tones. I think the last sentence in the project description is really important “China’s progress is rapid and profound. These are photographs that can never be taken again. ”  The photographer documents changes, “saves” moments either-wise they will disappear. Similar feeling and interesting landscape there are also in his series “God´s Country”. There is something simple but also really effective the same time.

As a part of exercise 2.3 we have to discuss the work of one of the photographers mentioned in the article from Guardian. I did that, however I think that there are some other photographers mentioned in it which worth exploring.

I like the work by http://www.frankgohlke.com/ (accessed 07-07-2016)

Especially his black and white projects. The reflections and the clarity of the first image on the opening of the page are interesting.  I do not know if it is in 120 mm film, given the quality of the image and the square size.  I think my favourite series is the “Grain Elevators”. I can also understand why somebody will not find them interesting (given the discussion in the article) but as I said for me I like his work.

https://fraenkelgallery.com/artists/robert-adams (accessed 07-07-2016)

Robert Adams, not my cup of tea, but out of the 16 photos in the above link my favourite one is Photo 10. I can see why somebody can find this type of photography kind of boring.

I think there are some powerful images by https://fraenkelgallery.com/artists/nicholas-nixon (accessed 07-07-2016) Nicholas Nixon in the above link. I like both his portraits and landscapes.  I like the point of view in Photo 1 and the effect of the clouds/ fog. How the background progressively fade out. In Photo 4, the positioning of the child inside give an initial feeling that it is a reflection of the girl on the front. Nice composition. I like the composition also in Photo 5, There is something powerful in the way the woman looks at the camera. I always like how old photos in black and white give me a contemporary feeling. I like the reflection in Photo 6 and how it is framed in the inside frame of the fence. Photo 7 is also powerful.  Their expression and details of the skin make it powerful. Make me think if the person is ill or have a mental illness. We cannot see the rest of the body which might give us more information. Maybe they do not have any problem and they just sitting on their chair thinking of their problems (I use they etc as I am not sure if it is a man or a woman). Photos 8 and 10 are also interesting. I am looking at them and try to think why the photographer decided to take this snap and also in 8 if it is the best composition, but still images that make you look at them and make you wonder. Photo 11, although has nothing special, maybe it is really simple, but somehow it attracted my attention. However, I am not sure why.

http://www.edruscha.com (accessed 07-07-2016)

Ed Ruscha works combine paintings and texts. Related to previous research on the use of text in photography. I like his work.

I think for exploring the work by Andreas Gursky maybe the best way is to do an image google search of his name. The result makes it clear how his work is representative of Typologies. What I really like is although the subjects photographed are not similar like in the work of Wylie, when we look at his work of similar subjects it makes the connection obvious.

http://www.boumbang.com/andreas-gursky/ (accessed 07-07-2016)

I have been impressed by looking at the work http://www.artnet.com/artists/candida-h%C3%B6fer/ (accessed 07-07-2016)

By Candida Hoefer. I appreciate more her work as I am guessing it is not so easy to get permission and take photos of these buildings. It is also clear the Typology element on the series of the photos.

Although most them are from places which give the feeling that are not empty, I also like the photos similar to http://www.artnet.com/artists/candida-h%C3%B6fer/julia-stoschek-collection-d%C3%BCsseldorf-x-a-_Nquimvmde0hKpRDiUUWdA2 (accessed 07-07-2016)

In which the simplicity is the main element. Even the colour element has been removed. I do not know if this is on purpose or these are the colours of the building. Another think I appreciate in her work is a constant photographic voice.

http://www.atgetphotography.com/The-Photographers/BRASSAI.html (accessed 09-07-2016)

I like the work by Brassai. The night landscapes would have been perfect sceneries for a movie. Many emotions can be expressed there. I like the use of night lighting, reflections, fog etc. It reminds noticing similar elements in the movie I watched for the road exercise. Also I think he photographed really interesting characters in his portraits. Photos of darker characters combined with taking them during the night, when most of the “normal” people were at home.

http://www.markpower.co.uk/ (accessed 09-07-2016)

As the end of the coursework is mentioned the work by Mark Power. I really like his work. I am looking to the first project in his website (POSTCARDS FROM AMERICA VI: OK/IE) and it gives me a really weird feeling. Usually, I look to black and white photos and they give me a contemporary feeling. His first project although contemporary it gives me the feeling that the photos have been taken on the 70s or 80s. Some really nice landscapes. His cropping is effective, not the standard photo proportions (wider on the horizontal). Also effective use of the sky (clouds, colours etc). It makes me want to visit these places. Maybe not the most beautiful places, but they are interesting photographically.  Also, there is a nice storytelling in his photography.

Then, I looked at “The City of Six Towns” I have a better understanding of this given to some time I spent in the north of UK. Not my best times, buy it helped me understand this project.

I like that there is a story behind each of his projects. I think I will add him in one of my favourite photographers J

Usually, a photographer combine in a series either landscape or portraits. Here, Mark Power combined this two with some abstract, fine art etc photos and somehow it really works. As there is a main story which connect all these.  I also like his attention to details.

The project mentioned in the coursework is “26 Different Endings”. There are some really nice photos there. I really like that feeling when I discover a photographer I know that he will be added in my collection of the photographers I really like 😉

In a sentence, I think I liked the storytelling in his photography and how different genres of photography can be combined with no problem in a photo series.  Having said that, I also liked how some photos stand alone can tell a really interesting story.

In the final exercise we read two essays. In one of them (Wire) is mentioned “The Huse House” by Frank Watson. I tried to find some of the photos and I found http://www.thehushhouse.com/ (accessed 09-07-2016)

Some interesting photos here. Nice compositions. Strange feeling looking to them. Fit with the text of the essay and the general concept of the Edgelands.

In other essay (Power) it was mentioned that one of the most remarkable photos of the power stations is John Davies photo of the Agecroft Power Station. I looked for it http://www.johndavies.uk.com/ox.htm  (accessed 09-07-2016) and indeed I think it is really a remarkable image. Interesting composition, telling many stories in one image.

One thought on “Looking to the work of photographers/ artist mentioned in the coursework.”

Leave a Reply

