Exercise 2.6: ‘Edgelands’

The last project in part two has to do with Psychogeography and ‘edgelands’.

In this exercise we have to read two chapters from the book “Edgelands” which will prepare us for some themes in Part Three. We have to record our responses on these chapters in this exercise. In addition to that I will also explore the concepts of Edgelands and Psychogeography for my curiosity and understanding.  

It was not so easy for me to understand what Psychogeography is. But if I understand correctly, it has to do with the effect of space around us on the way we feel, think and behave.  This is mainly has to do with the effect of the space when we are walking in familiar or new places (element of discovery).

Maybe these concepts are easier to be expressed by an author than a photographer as the author can describe both the scenery and the feelings, whereas the photographer can imply some feeling to us, or makes us feel something which is not always clear or the feeling the photographer feels. A similar statement can be made for a text but I think it easier to understand it.  

For the edgelands in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edgelands it says that it has to do with boundaries of the town or city. I do not think that this meaning applied directly in the book from which we have to read the two chapters. It is more a metaphoric use of the term. There are places that it feels like they are in the edge, but as it mentioned in the “Power” they are places that we want them to be as close as they will serve us, but far enough to be ignored.

I read both “Wire” and “Power” and I found them interesting. I like the way the authors write. Really descriptive for both the “images” and the feelings that they can produce.

The wires are always edges. Edges of places we are not allowed to pass. They are interesting photographically, especially for some close up some time when they are corroded.  Just writing for this I think we can see more frequently wires in the fences in Greece than in UK. It is more common in the country or seaside village or town houses. Kind of a barrier between houses for safety, not only in industrial facilities.

It is interesting that it is mentioned that the future generations might look at these desolate fortifications as we look at castles of mills. But these would be uglier than the castles. I like taking photographs of places described in both the documents, but this is simply because I found beauty in places other people might find ugly. In the last part of “Wire” there is a discussion about how grief also affect how we interact with our environment (building places for dead or place photos, flowers etc in the place of their death). For some reason, reading about that makes me think there also an element of grief in the desolate fortifications, maybe not so obvious as the roadside tributes, but there is an element of sadness for the past glory of these big partially demolished buildings which used to serve people. Writing these thoughts made me think of an account I follow in instagram

https://www.instagram.com/kings_abandoned/

In the first page of “Power” it says “We now know that language acts upon us…” at error I read initially “We now know that landscape acts upon us…” then I understood but I think this error is interesting as it is connected with the concept of Phychogeography mentioned about. For me walking is a thing I really enjoy. I like how different places affect how I feel. I like walking between the trees or by the sea. But also, urban landscapes have an interest. Also the nice feeling of discovery when walking in places you do not know and the will to take photos of them.

I have to goolge search for Power stations to be sure that it was what I have in my mind. I think I have seen some when I was travelling by train and I was always feeling strange seeing them. Always wishing to go closer and taking photos of them. But I was thinking that it is not so easy given the terrorism safety. I had similar feeling when I was looking to big chemical plants. Somehow reading the text makes me think of Don Quixote and how he was thinking that windmills where giants, like the author says that people give stories to the power plants or the water naiads.

Leave a Reply

