Exercise 1.1: Preconceptions

For this exercise we have to pick a pencil and draw a very rough sketch of a “landscape” picture.  Although I am bad on sketching I did it. We also have to annotate on it.

DSC_9830_scetch

What is the shape of the picture?

I used an A4 paper, with a Landscape page orientation. Even by calling the page orientation Landscape or portrait, shows us how common it is to consider a rectangular page with the horizontal side bigger than the vertical as “Landscape” shape. That is what comes to our mind when somebody refers to a photo or a painting of a Landscape. However, sometimes we take photos of Landscapes having the camera in a “portrait” orientation.

What sort of terrain is depicted?

There are mountains in the background with sun and clouds in the sky. In the middle/ foreground there are tries and countryside with a river passing in the middle. I draw this because as a child in school when I had to draw a landscape I was always drawing something like that.

What is in it? Are there people?

There are not people in the picture. The elements are present are those mentioned in the previous photo. Speaking general, if there were people in the photo, there were small figures, possibly showing how they use the space, without being the main subject of the drawing/ photo/ painting of the landscape.

How are the subjects arranged?

Again, I think I covered this above. Some tries here and there, the river in the middle of the foreground and in the back some mountains. Also, there are some clouds and the sun in the sky.

How might you describe the “mood” of the picture?

There is a general feeling of calmness.  A peaceful scenery, far from the destructions of a busy town/ city centre.

Influences in understanding the landscape genre

I have seen this type of imagery in TV, books, internet, galleries and magazines. Some influence from previous studies of paintings/ art, especially of the artist between the 1500- 1800. In addition, when I was undergraduate student I attended a course for methods of conservation of works of arts. In this course we have to prepare also an essay related to the course and I researched the work of Rembrandt.

Why I chose to study this course and what I hope to learn from it.

When I started reading the notes of the course, I noticed that I many of the reasons mentioned in page 22 apply to me.  It is an opportunity to get out. I just moved to Pamplona, Spain for a research position and hence taking some landscape photos will be another reason to further explore/ discover the area. I also think, as it is mentioned in the notes, that Landscape photography does not inspire me for a long time now and maybe with the course I will challenge myself. I hope that it will work though and that I will not fail J. In addition, I think as I am working towards a degree in photography, that it will be nice also to do a course in Landscape photography. Another factor is that I am not speaking the language here (do not speak Spanish, most people do not speak English), so working in course which required dealing with people might have been impossible or really hard. I am happy though with my choice. I noticed, that also in the past when I challenged myself with a course I was not thinking to take, I evolve both as a person and as a photographer. I do not know If I became better photographer than others, but I am sure that I became better photographer than I was, which I think is the most important.

I hope after the end of the course, that I will have a better understand of Landscape photography and the theory of landscape both in paintings and photography. In addition, I hope that I will produce some nice photos, that I this will be a motivation to explore more places and that will change my attitude towards this genre and include it in my personal photography practise.

 

 

Leave a Reply

